RSS

Time for me to blog

18 Jan

Well…..  although I have had my own web domain (www.digginbones.com) for about 10 years now; I have never really done a blog.  That is, until now.  I decided it was time for me to start blogging about some of my genealogy adventures.

A little about me.  I began my personal genealogy journey about 15 years ago.  It didn’t take me to long to find out that I lived only about 2 hours from the world’s second largest genealogy library; the Allen County Library, in Fort Wayne, IN.  I started making frequent trips there; leaving my house early in the morning, so that I was there before they opened the doors at 9 am. Often times, I remained there until closing time; at 9 pm, on weeknights.

At the time, I made my living as a karaoke host; running karaoke several nights a week.  Of course this left my daytime hours free for genealogy.  I spent many hours, every day, researching my ancestors; and developed a huge passion for it.

I was very fortunate to be able to make several trips to the States and Counties which my ancestors had come from.  I traveled to many Court Houses, Libraries, Graveyards, State Archives, etc.  I have always loved standing on ground that my ancestors had once stood; or, being able to stand at the grave of a great-great grandparent.

Most of my ancestors had immigrated to Maryland in the 1600’s.  They eventually made their way to North Carolina, Tennessee, Kentucky; and eventually to Indiana.

About 10 years ago, I moved to my present home, in Redkey, IN.  This put me much nearer to the Allen County Library; and afforded me even more opportunities to visit the library there.  Being only about 50 miles from the library; I decided that I wanted to try my hand at genealogy as a profession; and began doing so, on a part time basis.

As I got very tired of hosting karaoke; I decided, about 6 years ago; that it was time for me to take a leap of faith, and made genealogy my full time occupation.  I was a little nervous in the beginning, since I would no longer have my regular karaoke jobs to support me.  However; I was also pretty confident in my own abilities as a genealogist.  I never looked back!  The past few years have been very good to me.  Although I know that I won’t likely make a lot of money as a professional genealogist; I am able to make a living at it; and love my job!  I have had the great pleasure of helping hundreds of people over the years; and have broken down many brick walls.

Most of the research I do for clients, is “brick wall” research.  All of us run into one of those walls in our genealogy research; and I love being able to help folks gets past those points.  I have had many interesting cases over the past 10 years; and never get tired of it.  This blog will give me a chance to share some of those interesting stories that I come across in my research.  I also hope to be able to share some genealogy research tips here as well.

Until next time…..

 
9 Comments

Posted by on January 18, 2012 in General Genealogy

 

9 responses to “Time for me to blog

  1. Betty Brewer

    January 20, 2012 at 7:46 pm

    Hi Rex,
    How exciting!. I don’t know if you remember me, but I had you do research for me some years back on the French Family of Randolph and Jay Counties. Out of all the researchers that I have had, you were by FAR the most thorough. I may use you again in the near future. Can you tell me your rates again. Thanks, Betty

     
  2. digginbones

    January 20, 2012 at 7:56 pm

    Hi Betty. I only vaguely remember the research. Of course I have done research for hundreds of folks. Thanks very much for the very kind words. You can contact me via my webpage at http://www.digginbones.com , and I will gladly give you my rates. From the main page there; click the “Contact us” link at the top of the page. Don’t want to type my email address here, because the spammers can get it.

     
  3. Sue Hilfiker

    January 21, 2012 at 2:06 am

    Hi Rex Very glad you started your blog. I am also hooked on genealogy and have a few brick walls. I discovered about 3 years ago how valuable deed records are in researching ancestors. I discovered an estate deed that named two children I was unaware of. I was researching my g g grandfather John Mitchel in Madison Twp Jay Co IN Keep up the good work Sue

     
  4. digginbones

    January 21, 2012 at 2:54 am

    Hi Sue. Thanks for the comments. Those type of deeds are often full of great information. I often times learn about siblings and parents through deed records.

     
  5. Kathy

    January 21, 2012 at 7:43 pm

    Sounds really great the ideas you gave to find records. I still am trying to find a burial location for my great great grandfather. I ordered his death certificate and found his father’s name but not his mom’s last name. It didn’t give where he was buried. So I looked up his Civil War records and found his ex wife had applied. Not sure if her pension from him will show his burial site or not but am sure there will be interesting info in it. I think I have turned over every stone, but HIS ! so am looking forward to reading more on your blogs to help me find that errant ancestor so I can put a stone on his grave. I did learn he came back to Indiana in 1913 for a anniversary with the Civil War soldiers that year in Muncie. Before that he came back and went to Gettysburg for a reunion there (not sure of the year) abt 1880. So he did stay in touch with the group of men that he had fought in the War with. I have not seen him in any of the pictures that I found of those events Yet!
    but he had changed so much that he didn’t look the same.
    Why would they allow his ex wife to get his pension if she had remarried to another man is beyond me..but they did have 5 children together.

     
  6. digginbones

    January 21, 2012 at 7:48 pm

    Hi Kathy. The pension file certainly may list his burial place. I can assure you it will likely be full of great information. I have ordered many Civil War pension files in the past; for various clients; and often find great information in them. One pension file I obtained for a client was 299 pages! We found out about another wife and children of the man because of the pension file.

     
  7. todays date

    January 28, 2012 at 1:49 am

    i love your blog, i have it in my rss reader and always like new things coming up from it.

     
  8. Sherry E. Berry

    January 31, 2012 at 2:17 am

    What a great blog site for a history detective such as yourself. I appreciate the help with finding my gggrandma, I had been looking for her for years, you sure have a talent for “Diggin up Bones”.
    May many smart customers come your way.
    Sherry Berry

     
  9. Jo Ann Jones

    September 7, 2012 at 6:35 pm

    Hi Rex, I just happened to see your blog and decided to do some reading. Wow!!! What a wealth of information you put into it, and what a great help it must be to whomever reads it!!! I look forward to having you do some research for me and also reading your blog newsletters.
    Jo Ann Jones

     

Leave a Reply

 
