RSS

Great segment on PBS about the Allen County Public Library

29 Mar

Yep…… it’s been a long time since I have taken the time to post anything in my blog.  However; I want to take a few minutes to mention a segment on a show called “The Weekly Special”, which was aired on PBS of Bloomington, IN on 27 March 2014.  A crew from the station showed up at the Genealogy Department at the Allen County Public Library unannounced several weeks ago; and interview Curt Witcher (Genealogy Center Manager).  After the interview with Curt; he brought the crew over and introduced them to me.  I was asked if I would take some time to be interviewed as well; which I gladly did.  Although this was my first experience of this sort; I was glad to do it; and really enjoyed it as well.

Curt is so enthusiastic during his interview; and you can really hear his passion for the Genealogy Department; as well as for the importance of family history.  And; of course; I had my moment in the spotlight as well.

You can watch the episode of this show at the link below.  The segment about the library starts about 14 minutes into the show if you wish to forward to this segment.

http://video.pbs.org/video/2365209391/

Please feel free to post your comments on the segment.  Be sure to share a link to my blog with your genealogy friends online.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on March 29, 2014 in General Genealogy

 

3 responses to “Great segment on PBS about the Allen County Public Library

  1. Jo Ann Jones

    April 4, 2014 at 7:19 pm

    Rex, just viewed the video of your interview at the Wayne County Library in the Genealogy Section. Wow!!!!! I was blown away at all that is available there. Boy! Would I like to be near that place. I am assuming they have records from every state in the union. Haven’t forgotten I still want to find out more about my great, great, great grandfather, but will have to wait a bit longer.

    Always love reading your blogs.

    Jo Ann Jones

     
    • digginbones

      April 4, 2014 at 7:24 pm

      Hi Jo Ann. You are correct. There are records at this library covering every state and county in the U.S. This is the second largest genealogy library in the U.S. I am at the library today. Had a presentation to give this morning for the Indiana Genealogy Society. Working on research for a couple of clients this afternoon.

       
  2. Sherry Todd

    May 17, 2014 at 3:16 pm

    Hi Rex! Just got a chance to watch the video. I must say I had no idea how huge their collection was. Absolutely amazing…and growing every day! Thanks so much for putting this on your blog. I sure like how I get email notifications of updates on your blog. Hope to hear more from you.

    Happy researching!

    Sherry Todd

     

Leave a Reply

 
