RSS

Google Hangouts Genealogy Q & A Session Monday, Oct. 20

20 Oct

Alright. Enough talking about it! Time to do it. I have mentioned a couple of times that I would like to host some Google Hangout sessions intended for folks to be as questions and get suggestions regarding some of their genealogy roadblocks. In other words; participants can tell me about a specific roadblock in their research; I will try to offer ideas and suggestions as to some types of records; or some types of things they might want to search (or do) in order to try to break through their brick wall. Since I have not really had much experience myself with Google Hangouts; there may be some hiccups initially. But…. I am ready to give it a try. I know it is short notice; but I am going to host a Hangout at 8 pm Eastern Time Tomorrow evening (Monday, 20 Oct.). As I understand it; you need to have a Google + account (free and simple to create) to use Google Hangouts. With short notice; I don’t expect many to be able to participate. However; since this will be the first time; that might be a good thing. For those that don’t understand Hangouts; up to 10 people (I think 10) will be able to share video and audio. More can participate with audio; but only 10 will be able to share video. Of course I will be one of those 10 sharing video. Anyone who wishes to participate tomorrow evening email me (or message me on facebook) and let me know.  I will email a link to everyone approximately 30 minutes prior to the Hangout session.  Look forward to seeing and speaking with some of you tomorrow evening.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on October 20, 2014 in General Genealogy

 

3 responses to “Google Hangouts Genealogy Q & A Session Monday, Oct. 20

  1. Cherry Kinnunen

    October 20, 2014 at 3:15 am

    Yes, count me in! I will get a google plus Acct. on the AM. Cherry

    Sent from my iPhone

     
  2. Dan Clark

    October 20, 2014 at 9:44 pm

    If you have room and there’s time, add me to Hangouts. Even just listening I will probably learn something.  I’ve never heard of it, so no experience, but I’ll give it a try.  Just downloaded it.  Thanks,  Dan Clark.

     
  3. Marcia Ford

    October 20, 2014 at 10:00 pm

    Hi, I would like to participate in your Google Hangout if you still have space available. Sounds interesting. Marcia Ford Hartford, Wisconsin (formerly of Redkey, Indiana)

     

Leave a Reply

 
