RSS

An enjoyable evening discussing Genealogy

21 Oct

Mission accomplished!  I hosted my first Video Google Hangout yesterday evening.  It was announced on short notice; so there were not a lot of people there.  However; it was a good experience.  Including myself; 6 people attended the hangout.  I did my best to answer a few questions that some had regarding particular brick walls or problems they were facing with particular ancestors.  I also answered a couple of more general questions.  Most participated; and I believe most had an enjoyable time.  Hopefully; 1 or 2 people might have gotten a worthwhile suggestion that might help them with their research.

I enjoyed meeting a client (Cherry) whom I had done some research for a few years ago.  Also enjoyed meeting a researcher (Cindy), whom I have corresponded with on various occasions.  It was also a pleasure seeing Dan; whom I met at the Allen County Library, in Fort Wayne at the beginning of this year.  I helped him out some that day; and was treated to dinner before leaving for home that day. Another research (Myra) who attended chose to set back quietly.  I assume she felt more like sitting back and listening; which was certainly welcomed as well.  Finally; my cousin, Ken was also present.  He and I have research the common branch of our Brannum family for about 16 or 17 years.  Although I talk to him often; and see him occasionally (he only lives 10 miles from me); it was also great having him there and getting his input on things.

This is definitely something I will be doing again.  I did learn that with the Google Video Hangouts; only 10 people (including the host) can attend.  However; I believe that a group of 10 or less will actually be best for this sort of thing.  It will give everyone time to ask a question or two; and should make things run more smoothly than with a larger group.  It will also help to keep it more personal.

Those interested in attending the next Google Hangout for Genealogy should keep an eye on my blog.  If you are not a follower of my blog; consider following it so that you will receive email notices of new posts.  I will likely host another hangout within the next week.  I may choose a particular topic for the next Hangout session; in which I would speak briefly; and then open it up for questions.

I hope others will attend future Hangout sessions.  Those who attend will need a Google + account; if they don’t already have one.  A webcam is required if you wish to share video of yourself.  However; you certainly aren’t required to share your video.  A microphone is required if you wish to participate by asking questions and such.

Last night was a blast!  We will definitely do this again; and soon!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on October 21, 2014 in General Genealogy

 

2 responses to “An enjoyable evening discussing Genealogy

  1. Sherry Todd

    October 21, 2014 at 5:08 pm

    So happy to hear about your first Google Hang Out session, Rex, and so sorry I had to miss it! Looking forward to the next one and hoping there’s enough room for me. 🙂

     
  2. Sherry Myers

    October 22, 2014 at 1:53 pm

    Rex, glad your hangout was a success, I would like to attend one soon. I have the same old problem we encountered before so not too sure my input will be helpful but would like to see what others have to say. Your Cousin, Sherry

     

Leave a Reply

 
