RSS

The Importance of Deed Records

23 Oct

I will be doing a presentation using Google Hangouts this Sunday evening (26 Oct., 2014).  The topic will be about the importance of Deeds for genealogy research.  I will spend approximately 20-30 minutes discussing the importance of deeds; what types of things can be found in deeds; how to search them, and more.  I will show examples as well.  After speaking and showing some examples, I will then give as much time as folks desire to ask questions regarding this subject.

Many people do not realize how important deeds can be to their genealogy research.  Many things can be found in these records; including unknown parents and siblings.  I won’t discuss that here.  Instead; I will be doing a free Google Video Hangout session this Sunday evening at 8 pm Eastern Time.  There is no cost.  Those wishing to attend need to contact me (you can email me or comment below) to let me know if they want to attend.  Google Hangouts allows a maximum of 10 people in the hangout.  Approximately 30 minutes prior to this Google Video Hangout, I will be posting a link here on my blog to the hangout.

You must have a Google account to use Google Hangouts.  You will also need a microphone if you wish to ask questions and participate in the discussion.  You may (or may not) choose to stream video of yourself (if you have a webcam).  That option is up to you.  Of course I will be streaming video and audio of myself; and will also be sharing some things on my screen.

Please email me; message me on Facebook; or comment below if you want to be a part of this session Sunday evening.  Remember; only 10 (including myself) will be able to get into the hangout.  Hope to see you there.

 
7 Comments

Posted by on October 23, 2014 in General Genealogy

 

7 responses to “The Importance of Deed Records

  1. Cherry Kinnunen

    October 23, 2014 at 9:39 pm

    I would like to be included. Cherry

    Sent from my iPhone

     
  2. Dan Clark

    October 23, 2014 at 10:38 pm

    Rex- I will plan to be in on this. I’m sure I’ll learn something as this is an area I’ve not done much with. Dan

     
  3. digginbones

    October 24, 2014 at 12:39 am

    Cherry and Dan…. Will look forward to seeing you both there.

     
  4. Sherry Todd

    October 24, 2014 at 2:46 am

    Count me in, Rex! Thank you.

     
  5. Sherry Myers

    October 24, 2014 at 3:39 pm

    Rex, would love to attend. Sherry

     
  6. Ellie Swanger

    October 29, 2014 at 3:16 pm

    Can a person get a copy of your 20 min. presentation on how to us DEEDS for genealogy research?
    I missed your presentation when you gave it. Thanks – Ellie Swanger

     
    • digginbones

      October 29, 2014 at 3:57 pm

      This was a video presentation. Although I believe there is a way for me to save these presentations in Google Hangouts; and upload them to YouTube; that is not something I know how to do yet. I will be doing future presentations; and at some point will probably repeat some of the presentations.

       

Leave a Reply

 
