RSS

Another Successful Online Presentation

29 Oct

This past Sunday evening; I did a online presentation about the importance of researching deed records when searching for our ancestors.  Many people do not realize the importance of deeds; and are not aware of the great information that can often be found in them.  During the presentation, I tried to point out the various types of information that can be found in deed records.  Often times I am able to find the name of a previously unknown father in deeds.  Frequently; I find all of the children of a father; as well as their spouses.  Much can be found in deed records.  During the presentation I showed several examples of deed records that provided this type of information.

There were 7 or 8 people who watched and listened to my presentation.  Afterwards, I tried to answer various questions from those who attended this online session.

Since I will be doing more of these online presentations; I want to be sure everyone understands that these are done online.  Anyone with an internet connection can attend.  There is no cost to attend.  I have been using Google Video Hangouts to do these presentations.  This allows those attending to see and hear me; and also allows me to share my screen.  Sharing my screen makes it simple for me to show examples of various documents and such.

A Google Video Hangout is limited to 10 people.  If you have a webcam, you can choose to share your video; but are certainly not required to do so.  Of course you must have a microphone (most laptops have a webcam and microphone built in) if you wish to be able to be heard.

You do need a Google/Gmail account to participate in a Google Hangout.  If you do not have one; it is free and fairly simple to create.  You can also use Google Hangouts using a smart phone.  However; I recommend that your phone be connected to WiFi, since it will be streaming video and audio.  I would also suggest your phone have a good charge on it when you begin; or be plugged in so that it is maintaining a charge.  It is my understanding that using Google Hangouts on a smart phone (because it is streaming video and audio the entire time) will drain a battery fairly quickly.  You can install the Google Hangouts app on any smart phone (free app).

Although you can certainly use a smart phone to use Google Hangouts; a computer is probably the best choice.

Hopefully; this makes it a little more clear to folks who may wish to attend one of my presentations in the future.  It doesn’t matter where you live since these are done online.

Tips and Tricks to Searching Ancestry’s Census and Other Records

I will be doing another presentation soon.  There are several simple tips and tricks to searching Ancestry that many people are not familiar with.  Using these tips may help you find records on your ancestors that you would not find otherwise.  Within the next week or two, I will do a presentation in which I will share and demonstrate some of these tips.

Feel free to post any questions or comments below.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on October 29, 2014 in General Genealogy

 

One response to “Another Successful Online Presentation

  1. Sherry Todd

    October 30, 2014 at 3:31 am

    Thanks for the Sunday session and information on deeds, Rex! Looking forward to the next one. I can use all the Ancestry tips and tricks I can find, so keep me in the loop! 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
