RSS

Which of your Ancestor’s Would You Most Like to Talk To?

28 Nov

Before being a guest on the Savory Spotlight radio show; which I recently blogged about; I was sent a list of questions I might be asked.  One of those questions was…….

If you had a chance to sit down with one of your ancestors, whom would it be; and what would you ask?

We never got around to that question due to time.  However; it certainly got me thinking.  So…… what I would like to do is to ask each of you to answer that question by commenting below.  I will start by answering the question myself.

Although there are many ancestors whom I would love to speak with and ask questions of; if I had to pick just one; it would be my GGG Grandfather, Thomas Gist.  Thomas was born ca 1809-1811; depending on which census you want to believe.  He was born in Kentucky; although records of his children show that he was born in Alabama.  I won’t bother with the details here.  However; I have very good reason to believe that Thomas was almost certainly “raised” in Alabama; although I am sure he was born in Kentucky. Thomas married Eliza Kemmer in Bledsoe Co., TN in the 1845.

Although I have done a ton of research on Thomas; and have a lot of strong “evidence” to suggest who his parents were; I have nothing that “absolutely” proves it.  Yes…… even I have brick walls of my own.

So…… if I could sit down and talk to just one of my ancestors; it would be Thomas Gist.  I would ask him if his parents were in fact William Gist and Abigail Pennington; as I believe they were.  I would want to ask him about his family’s adventures while moving from Kentucky to Jackson Co., AL.  Tell me, Grandpa….. what was the trip like?  What kind of trials and tribulations did you encounter along the way?  Why did you decide to leave Alabama and move to Bledsoe Co., TN?

Grandpa……..  did you ever get to meet your Great-Uncle, Daniel Boone; sister of your Maternal Grandmother, Hannah?  You would have been about 10 years old when he died.  Maybe he visited his sister; your grandmother in Alabama.  Or maybe you met him in Kentucky before your father made the decision to move the family to Jackson Co., AL.

Grandpa……  I was told that you were killed by bushwhackers during the Civil War.  Is that true?  Please tell me about it.  Were you home at the time?

These are just a few of the questions I would want to ask my GGG Grandfather, Thomas Gist.

I hope many of my readers will take a few moments to tell me which ancestor you would most like to sit down with; and what question or questions you would ask that person.  Please do so in the comments section below.  I look forward to your responses.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on November 28, 2014 in General Genealogy

 

4 responses to “Which of your Ancestor’s Would You Most Like to Talk To?

  1. Sue Hilfiker

    November 28, 2014 at 7:00 pm

    I would like to talk to my grandmother who passed away while I was in my 20’s and as yet was not interested in genealogy. Her Father was born in Denmark with the last name of Rasmussen you can compare that name to Jones or Smith here in the states. He is my brick wall

     
  2. Shirley Fields

    November 29, 2014 at 9:22 pm

    Like you, I would like to sit down and talk to my brick wall ancestor –my 4G grandfather, George Richison. I’d ask about his wife — her full name, where she was from and when she died. I’d ask about a lease I found between Hugh Cameron and George — what was the purpose of that lease and what happened to it when Hugh died. I’d ask if he and Hugh were related and where they had come from prior to the 1808 lease. And I’d ask if I have correctly identified he and Ellen’s children.

    Getting to ask George all my questions and get the answers would be better then winning the lottery –and just as likely to happen!

     
  3. Dan Clark

    December 1, 2014 at 11:17 pm

    I suppose if I had to pick one it would be my 3th Gr grandfather Harvey Clark and not so much as to get answers to brick wall type questions, but rather to have a better understanding of his life.

    What was it like travelling from Massachusetts to Williams Co. in northwest Ohio in 1833 with your 2 brothers and settling in an area with few white settlers and mostly Indians? Many hardships I’m sure.

    Tell me about what it was like having 5 sons in the Civil War (two of which didn’t survive- one 16 y/o)

    Why did you move on to Missouri in 1866 (age 58) then move back to Williams Co. in 1875, then back to Missouri a couple years later and finally returning “home” again? What was the mode of travel?

    These are just some of the things I’d ask. Of course he could also answer questions that otherwise will never be known by me.

     
  4. Sherry Todd

    December 3, 2014 at 11:46 pm

    I’m very drawn to many of my ancestors, but for the moment as I think about that question, I would like to sit down and talk to my 9x great grandfather, Francis Plummer, who came over from England in 1633. I would want to know all about The Great Migration and what life was like in America at that time. Books just don’t do the trick for me!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
