RSS

Time for Another Google Hangout Presentation/Discussion

05 Jan

As with most folks; I have been occupied the past few weeks with various holiday functions and such.  Our Christmas was awesome! We enjoyed several family gatherings, with great food and family.  Now; it’s time to get back to work.  Since the temperature here in Indiana has dropped drastically; and we have potential for snow overnight tonight; I will likely stay home the next several days; and get what work I can done from here.  Temperature here is currently 4; with a wind chill of -14!

Now that things are starting to settle down some; I want to do another Google Hangout session.  I have done the previous hangouts on Sunday evenings.  However; there were some people who wanted to attend; but could not do so because of Church.  So…..  I am going to try a different day and time.  This Saturday morning Jan, 10, 2015) at 11 am Eastern Time; I will host a Google Hangout presentation and discussion on the uses of Google Drive (also known as Google Docs) for Genealogy,

I have been using Google Docs/Drive for several years now.  It can be a very valuable tool for creating and storing genealogy documents. I will demonstrate some of the uses; and will allow for questions and discussions.  As with previous Hangout Sessions I have done; this will be very informal.  I will spend a few minutes demonstrating some of the uses of Google Docs/Drive; and will open things up for questions and discussion.

You must have a Google/Gmail account to use Google Hangouts.  A webcam is needed if you wish to be seen.  However; a webcam is not required.  Anyone is welcome to sit back and watch; as well as participate in the discussion.  Of course a microphone is needed if you wish to ask questions and/or participate in the discussion.

Those who wish to attend this online hangout should notify me (Facebook message, email or comment below) so that I can send you the link to the hangout about 30 minutes prior to the hangout.

“If” there is enough interest; and some cannot attend Saturday at 11 am Eastern; I may do the presentation/discussion again Saturday evening.

I hope everyone had a wonderful Christmas; and wish everyone a Happy and Healthy New Year!

 
7 Comments

Posted by on January 5, 2015 in General Genealogy

 

7 responses to “Time for Another Google Hangout Presentation/Discussion

  1. Shirley Richison Fields

    January 5, 2015 at 3:00 pm

    Rex, How long will the HOA be? I’d love to attend if I may.

     
  2. digginbones

    January 5, 2015 at 3:06 pm

    Hello Shirley. Hard to say how long the Presentation/discussion will last. I have only done a couple of these previously. I would say it will last about an hour; although some may still hang around longer; which is fine. I will stay as long as there are questions. You are welcome to join. I’d be glad to have you there. I will be sending out a link to the hangout about 30 minutes prior to it. Would you prefer to receive the link by email or facebook message?

     
  3. Cherry Kinnunen

    January 6, 2015 at 2:21 pm

    Count me in! Cherry

    Sent from my iPhone

     
    • digginbones

      January 6, 2015 at 2:39 pm

      Hi Cherry. Consider yourself counted!

       
  4. Sherry Todd

    January 7, 2015 at 4:56 pm

    Hi Rex, Count me in too! I do have an appointment that morning, but I think I may be able to attend all the way through the session. If not, I’ll slip out early.

     
    • Rex

      January 8, 2015 at 2:55 am

      Counted!

       
  5. Cherry Kinnunen

    January 10, 2015 at 12:39 pm

    Am I to expect a link to the presentation For today? Looking forward! Cherry

    Sent from my iPhone

     

Leave a Reply

 
