RSS

Pension Files

09 Sep

Well…..  My internet has been working all day today; since about 9 this morning.  Have no idea why.  However; I did shut down my computer for a while this morning; and restarted it about an hour later.  Internet has worked ever since.  So…. I will be rescheduling the Google Hangout for the discussion of “The Value of Pension Files for Genealogy” within the next couple of days.  I will likely schedule it for early next week; and will (of course) post here in advance of it.

In the meantime; for those of you who have obtained a pension file for one or more of your ancestors; what was the best or most unexpected thing you found in a pension?

I’ll start with one of my own.  I got a Civil War pension file for a GG Grandfather; who was the father of my Great-Grandmother.  He was married (to someone other than my GG Grandmother); but had 5 children with her.  Although I was told that he was the father of my G-Grandmother; I never expected any written confirmation.  I was surprised when I received his pension file to see a deposition by someone who had stated that he visited my great grandmother’s house frequently; and that he had fathered several children with her.  A very nice surprise in this pension file.

Would love to hear about something you found in a pension file.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on September 9, 2015 in General Genealogy

 

Tags:

4 responses to “Pension Files

  1. Lea Roberts

    September 10, 2015 at 12:15 am

    You cracked me up with the above Rex! Did you do any cracking of my case?

    Lea Roberts

     
    • digginbones

      September 10, 2015 at 12:23 am

      Hoping to spend some more time on yours tomorrow.

       
  2. Rita Johnson

    September 10, 2015 at 12:54 am

    I found my 3x great grandfather’s pension app – more accurately the application of his widow- included in the file were the names of all of their children with birthdates, the names of her mother and her sister who attested to the births of the children. The name of her father, a minister, who performed the marriage ceremony when grandma and grandpa tied the knot. The nickname of the widow (most helpful to find further documents). It was a treasure trove of information.

     
    • digginbones

      September 10, 2015 at 2:42 am

      Those pension files can certainly contain a treasure trove of information!

       

Leave a Reply

 
